Business Today

Maharashtra Govt Formation Live Updates: Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as CM; PM Modi congratulates on Twitter

Maharashtra CM Swearing In Ceremony Live Updates: With the swearing in of Uddhav Thackeray, Maharashtra gets a Chief Minister from Shiv Sena after 20 years

twitter-logoBusinessToday.In | November 28, 2019 | Updated 20:46 IST
Maharashtra Govt Formation Live Updates: Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as CM; PM Modi congratulates on Twitter
Maharashtra CM Oath Taking Ceremony Live Updates: Uddhav Thackeray took oath of office in an event at Shivaji Park (File photo/ PTI)

Maharashtra CM Oath Taking Ceremony Live Updates: Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray took oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra during a swearing in ceremony at Shivaji Park in Mumbai on Thursday. This is the same venue where Bal Thackeray, Shiv Sena founder and Uddhav's father, addressed his famous Dussehra rallies. Two MLAs each from Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress also took oath during the swearing-in ceremony.

With this swearing, Uddhav became the third leader from Shiv Sena to assume the office of Maharashtra's Chief Minister, and the first in last 20 years. The last Sena man to occupy the chief minister's chair was Narayan Rane in 1999, after Manohar Joshi, who in 1995 became the first CM from the party. He will be the eighth Maharashtra CM to take oath without being an MLA or MLC. He is also the first member of Thackeray family to hold this post.

ALSO READ:Uddhav Thackeray's Oath Taking Ceremony: Where, when to watch live streaming

ALSO READ:Maharashtra govt formation: Uddhav Thackeray to be sworn in CM; NCP to get Deputy CM's post

For more updates from Maharashtra CM swearing in ceremony, follow BusinessToday.In:

08:23 pm: State ministers arrive at Sahyadri guest house for the first Cabinet meeting under CM Uddhav Thackeray.

08:15 pm: Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray, along with wife Rashmi and son Aaditya, offers prayers at Siddhivinayak Temple.

08:10 pm: NCP leader Ajit Pawar congratulates Uddhav Thackeray on becoming Maharashtra CM.

07:22 pm: Visuals from Uddhav Thackeray's swearing in ceremony.

07:19 pm: PM Narendra Modi wishes Uddhav Thackeray on becoming the Chief Minister of Maharashtra

07:08 pm: Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut take oath as ministers in Uddhav Thackeray's Cabinet.

06:55 pm: NCP MLA Chhagan Bhujbal takes oath.

06:55 pm: NCP MLA Jayant Patil takes oath.

06:51 pm: Shiv Sena MLA Subhash Desai takes oath.

06:48 pm: Shiv Sena MLA Eknath Shinde takes oath.

06:46 pm: Uddhav Thackeray takes the oath of office and secrecy as the next Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

06:41 pm: Uddhav Thackeray, Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari are present on the stage. Mukesh Ambani, Nita Ambani, Devendra Fadnavis among dignitaries present on the dias.

06:35 pm: Former Prime Minister and veteran Congres leader Manmohan Singh writes to Uddhav Thackeray ahead of his swearing in as the next Maharashtra Chief Minister.

06:33 pm: Uddhav Thackeray reaches Shivaji Park.

06:24 pm: MNS chief Raj Thackeray arrives at Shivaji Park to attend the swearing in ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray.

06:22 pm: Visuals from Uddhav Thackeray's sweaing-in ceremony at Shivaji Park.

06:12 pm: NCP chief Sharad Pawar arrives at Shivaji Park for Uddhav Thackeray's swearing in ceremony.

05:59 pm: Rahul Gandhi too will not attend the swearing in ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray. Earlier today, Sonia Gandhi had expressed her inability to be present for the ceremony.

05:51 pm: Less than an hour left before the swearing in ceremony, Uddhav Thackeray is waiting for the auspicious time to leave for Shivaji Park.

05:30 pm: Common Minimum Programme of the Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance.

05:26 pm: The first Cabinet meeting of the new Mahqarashtra government will be held at Sahyadri guest house at 8:00 pm after the swearing in ceremony. The Nanar Refinery Project and bullet train project will be taken up during the meeting. A proposal to ensure 80 per cent reservation for locals in the existing and new companies will also be discussed.

05:22 pm: Congress president Sonia Gandhi pens a letter to Uddhav Thackeray informing that she will not be able to attend the swearing in ceremony. Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress have together under quite extraordinary circumstances, she said in her letter.

05:20 pm: Veteran actress and Samajwadi Party leader Jaya Bachchan congratulates Uddhav Thackeray ahead of his swearing in ceremony.

04:00 pm: Uddhav, six ministers to take oath today, says Ajit Pawar

NCP leader Ajit Pawar has said that six leaders, two each from his party, the Shiv Sena and the Congress, will take oath as ministers on Thursday along with Chief Minister-designate Uddhav Thackeray in the swearing in ceremony today. Pawar also confirmed that he will not take oath as a minister on during the oath taking ceremony at Shivaji Park.

03:45 pm: Bombay HC refuses urgent hearing on plea against Uddhav's swearing-in

The Bombay High Court has refused to take up urgent hearing on a petition filed by a group of lawyers seeking a stay on the swearing-in of Uddhav Thackeray as chief minister of Maharashtra on Thursday evening. The petitioners sought an urgent hearing of their plea, saying the Shiv Sena and BJP should have stood by their pre-poll alliance and formed government. However, two different benches of the high court refused to take up the petition for hearing ahead of the swearing in ceremony.

ALSO READ:Don't create confusion, I am in NCP and will remain in the party: Ajit Pawar

  • Print
A    A   A