Business Today

Narendra Modi govt promotes 26 IAS officers in latest bureaucratic reshuffle

The Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government transferred as many as 35 joint secretaries.

Mail Today Bureau   New Delhi     Last Updated: November 5, 2014  | 09:18 IST
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: Reuters)

The Narendra Modi government has announced another major bureaucratic reshuffle by promoting 26 IAS officers to the rank of special secretary and transferring as many as 35 joint secretaries.

Delhi Development Authority vice-chairman Balvender Kumar, a 1981 batch IAS officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre, has been promoted to the rank and pay of secretary.

Senior IAS officers Rajiv Nayan Choubey and Devendra Chaudhary have been made special secretaries in the power ministry.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, headed by the Prime Minister (PM), had on June 18 cancelled the appointment of Choubey as additional secretary in the PMO without providing any reason. Anjuly Chib Duggal has been promoted as special secretary in the department of expenditure.

Vivek Joshi, joint secretary in the ministry of women and child development, has been appointed officer on special duty, Procurement Policy Division, under the department of expenditure. Annie George Mathew, a 1988 batch Indian Audit and Accounts Service officer, has been appointed joint secretary in the department of expenditure.

Ravinder Kumar Jain has been appointed secretary in the National Disaster Management Authority in the rank and pay of secretary, according to an official order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training on Monday night.

Rajiv Arora, joint secretary in the department of commerce, has been shifted to the national intelligence grid in the same rank while Subhag Singh has been appointed managing director in National Agricultural Cooperative Marketing Federation of India. MC Jauhari has been transferred from the post of joint secretary in the ministry of shipping and appointed deputy director general in the Unique Identification Authority of India.

  • Print

A    A   A