Print   Close

Show me the money: Kalpana Morparia

November 11, 2010
Kalpana Morparia
61, Chief Executive Officer, J.P. Morgan India
(Number of times in BT's Most Powerful list: 5)

Biggest achievement in 2010: J.P. Morgan India ranked amongst the top three in the I-banking league tables

Being a powerful woman is important because: It gives you the ability to make a difference

Tip for work-life balance: For me work is life

A workplace without women is: Not only dull but also ineffective
The boom in the markets has been treating Morparia and J.P. Morgan India well. In 2009, Morparia claims, J.P. Morgan India ranked No. 1 on the investment banking league tables. "This year we are among the top 3," she says.

Morparia is also clear that business sense matters more than glory. J.P. Morgan India was not among the six investment banks that took the $3.47-billion Coal India initial public offering to investors.

Morparia would rather get involved in big-ticket transactions where there is a chunky fee to be picked up - like, for instance, the $1.9-billion listing of Essar Energy on the London Stock Exchange in May. The issue price had to be lowered because of volcanic ash from Iceland and the economic crisis in Greece, but Morparia maintains that "the issue was well priced and well received."The disinvestment boom is not on her front burner. "I have a clear focus on the bottom line," says Morparia.

-Rajiv Bhuva

The 30 Most Powerful Women
1. Schauna Chauhan
2. Zarin Daruwala
3. Lynn de Souza
4. Tanya Dubash
5. Shyamala Gopinath
6. Vinita Gupta
7. Kaku Nakhate
8. Vedika Bhandarkar
9. Manisha Girotra
10. Lalita Gupte
11. Usha Narayanan
12. Akhila Srinivasan
13. Leena Nair
14. Vinita Bali
15. Chanda Kochhar
16. Roopa Kudva
17. Naina Lal Kidwai
18. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
19. Zarina Mehta
20. Zia Mody
21. Kalpana Morparia
22. Vishakha Mulye
23. Swati Piramal
24. Meher Pudumjee
25. Madhabi Puri Buch
26. Chitra Ramkrishna
27. Preetha Reddy
28. Shikha Sharma
29. Mallika Srinivasan
30. Sangeeta Talwar

URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.