Print   Close

Different strokes: Madhabi Puri Buch

November 11, 2010
Madhabi Puri Buch
44, Managing Director and CEO, ICICI Securities
(Number of times in BT's Most Powerful list: 5)

Biggest achievement in 2010: Incubated several new business models with ICICI Securities

Being a powerful woman is important because: It helps me make a positive difference in others' lives

Tip for work-life balance: Enjoy doing what you like and have a family that supports you

A workplace without women is: A constraint to growth
It may be one of the oldest clich├ęs in the book, but Madhabi Puri Buch "looks to make a difference in whatever I do." As CEO of ICICI Securities, or I-Sec, she is doing exactly that. Over the past year, I-Sec has incubated several innovative business models. "We have a team called the ICICI Securities Entrepreneurial Group that has come up with some interesting business models. We are reinventing the traditional investment banking business," says Buch.

For instance, the institutional broking division's research wing currently tracks about 150 companies. One of the newlyincubated models can create and generate research for 5,000 unlisted and listed companies. "We have been able to democratise research," says Buch.

In the private equity intermediation space I-Sec has set up a special team to tap the sub-$10 million fund-raising market, which remains largely fragmented and unorganised.

The team, which is working on pilot transactions, will help small enterprises and start-ups raise growth capital. Buch has also founded the Toofles Foundation, which aims to create a "revolution in giving" by hand-holding people who want to donate but do not know how to go about it. She is making a difference, differently.

-Anusha Subramanian
The 30 Most Powerful Women
1. Schauna Chauhan
2. Zarin Daruwala
3. Lynn de Souza
4. Tanya Dubash
5. Shyamala Gopinath
6. Vinita Gupta
7. Kaku Nakhate
8. Vedika Bhandarkar
9. Manisha Girotra
10. Lalita Gupte
11. Usha Narayanan
12. Akhila Srinivasan
13. Leena Nair
14. Vinita Bali
15. Chanda Kochhar
16. Roopa Kudva
17. Naina Lal Kidwai
18. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
19. Zarina Mehta
20. Zia Mody
21. Kalpana Morparia
22. Vishakha Mulye
23. Swati Piramal
24. Meher Pudumjee
25. Madhabi Puri Buch
26. Chitra Ramkrishna
27. Preetha Reddy
28. Shikha Sharma
29. Mallika Srinivasan
30. Sangeeta Talwar

URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.