Print   Close

I'm every woman: Shikha Sharma

November 11, 2010
Shikha Sharma
51, MD & CEO, Axis Bank
(Number of times in BT's Most Powerful list: 7)

Biggest achievement in 2010: Making Axis a consistent performer at a time when most banks took a hit

Being a powerful woman is important because: Power has the ability to make a difference

Tip for work-life balance: Treat family, work and home pretty much the same way

A workplace without women is like: A place sans diversity. Diversity brings value to the workplace
Is it lonely at the top? If you ask Axis Bank's chief Shikha Sharma this question, you are likely to get an honest answer. "At one level, it is (lonesome)," says Sharma, who left her comfort zone in the ICICI Group 18 months ago, where she worked for almost three decades, to head the country's third-largest private sector bank. "It is lonely because you cannot pass the buck to others," she says.

A year-and-a-half at Axis is enough time for Sharma to talk about the changes she has spearheaded. "I have sharpened the focus a bit," she lets on. For three to five years, she says, infrastructure will be a significant opportunity.

It will not be the only one. "...increasing levels of savings and consumption will lead to the growth of retail-oriented businesses," believes Sharma, adding, "Our strategy at Axis is to pursue profitable growth in the areas that will lend momentum to the economy.
-Anand Adhikari

The 30 Most Powerful Women
1. Schauna Chauhan
2. Zarin Daruwala
3. Lynn de Souza
4. Tanya Dubash
5. Shyamala Gopinath
6. Vinita Gupta
7. Kaku Nakhate
8. Vedika Bhandarkar
9. Manisha Girotra
10. Lalita Gupte
11. Usha Narayanan
12. Akhila Srinivasan
13. Leena Nair
14. Vinita Bali
15. Chanda Kochhar
16. Roopa Kudva
17. Naina Lal Kidwai
18. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
19. Zarina Mehta
20. Zia Mody
21. Kalpana Morparia
22. Vishakha Mulye
23. Swati Piramal
24. Meher Pudumjee
25. Madhabi Puri Buch
26. Chitra Ramkrishna
27. Preetha Reddy
28. Shikha Sharma
29. Mallika Srinivasan
30. Sangeeta Talwar

URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.