Print   Close

High traction: Mallika Srinivasan

November 11, 2010
Mallika Srinivasan
51, Director, TAFE
(Number of times in BT's Most Powerful list: 7)

Biggest achievement in 2010: Became the world's No. 3 in tractor sales

Being a powerful woman is important because: I can bring everybody together to share my vision and make a unified impact on society

Tip for work-life balance: Have an open mind, be flexible, choose an area of work you enjoy doing

A workplace without women is like: A society without women
It is difficult to imagine anybody - man or woman - being obsessive about tractors. But, for Mallika Srinivasan, tractors are her passion, as is Tractors and Farm Equipment, or TAFE, the company of which she is a director. That passion is reflected in the huge strides taken by TAFE.

In financial year 2010 the Chennai-headquartered unlisted company became the third-largest tractor company in the world - only behind Mahindra & Mahindra and John Deere - a jump of two positions since a year ago.

One big contributor to that growth has been the success of the export strategy - TAFE sells to 40 countries, with exports accounting for 15 per cent of sales. Along with exporting out of India, TAFE has also put up a unit in Turkey to make tractors. And overseas sales are not a matter of out-of-sight, outof-mind, explains Srinivsan. "A tractor is not a product that can be sold and forgotten; it has to be serviced over a very long life cycle,'' she points out. That's where the passion comes handy.
-Nitya Varadarajan
The 30 Most Powerful Women
1. Schauna Chauhan
2. Zarin Daruwala
3. Lynn de Souza
4. Tanya Dubash
5. Shyamala Gopinath
6. Vinita Gupta
7. Kaku Nakhate
8. Vedika Bhandarkar
9. Manisha Girotra
10. Lalita Gupte
11. Usha Narayanan
12. Akhila Srinivasan
13. Leena Nair
14. Vinita Bali
15. Chanda Kochhar
16. Roopa Kudva
17. Naina Lal Kidwai
18. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
19. Zarina Mehta
20. Zia Mody
21. Kalpana Morparia
22. Vishakha Mulye
23. Swati Piramal
24. Meher Pudumjee
25. Madhabi Puri Buch
26. Chitra Ramkrishna
27. Preetha Reddy
28. Shikha Sharma
29. Mallika Srinivasan
30. Sangeeta Talwar

URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.