Print   Close

Stocks in news today: DLF, Ujaas Energy and more

BT Online     September 3, 2015

The benchmark Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) Sensex on Thursday closed 311.22 points up at 25,764.78. On similar lines, the broader Nifty of National Stock Exchange also closed 106 points or 1.37 per cent up at 7,823.

Below are the key stocks that remained in focus today:

  1. DLF: The realty major sold about 50-per cent stake each in two of its upcoming projects in the capital to Singapore's sovereign wealth fund GIC for Rs 1,990 crore on Wednesday. In addition, the company's arm DLF Home Developers (DHDL) and GIC have entered into a joint venture (JV) to invest in two upcoming projects located in central Delhi. Its shares rose 10.08 per cent to close at Rs 120.65 apiece on Thursday.
  2. Ujaas Energy: The Ujaas Energy stock rose on Thursday after the firm said it has secured a order worth Rs 88 crore from Oil India Limited. The order is for engineering, procurement and construction for 9 MWP (DC) Grid Interactive Solar Photo Voltaic (SPV) Power Plant at Ramgarh, Jaisalmer along with its comprehensive operation and maintenance for 25 years. Its shares rose 7.04 per cent to close at Rs 15.36 apiece on Thursday.
  3. Steel Authority of India Ltd (SAIL): Shares of steel firm SAIL on Thursday rose by 4.84 per cent to close at Rs 48.75 apiece after the company said it will press ahead with its modernisation programme and augment capacity in the current fiscal.
  4. Ambuja Cements: Ambuja Cements rose 3.94 per cent to close at Rs 218.75 apiece on Thursday after Nomura upgraded its stock to "buy" from "neutral". Nomura said that the company's current valuations are reasonable in context of net cash balance sheet and strong franchise.
  5. Wockhardt: Its shares surged on expectations of higher earnings driven by its expansion in the US and India, faster drug approvals, and improved portfolio quality through acquisitions. The company shares rose 2.29 per cent to close at Rs 1328.10 apiece on Thursday.


URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.