Print   Close

Lok Sabha Election 2019: This model polling station offers creche, waiting room facilities

BusinessToday.In     April 11, 2019

To make sure that the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are conducted in a fair and peaceful manner, stringent measures have been put in place across the country. As 20 states and union territories go to vote on Phase 1 of the General Elections on April 11, authorities across the country are putting their best foot forward to maintain law and order. Amid this, authorities in Nagaland have put up a model polling station in the state's Zunheboto town.

The model polling station offers creche facility, drinking water and is plastic free. There is a waiting room as well. Voters are issued tokens to make use of the facilities. Official spokesperson of the Election Commission of India, Sheyphali Sharan, took to Twitter to share images from the special polling station.

Two similar model polling stations have been set up in Andhra Pradesh as well. These polling stations in Kakinada are managed by women including the police force and supervisor. The Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh took to Twitter to share images of the stations.

Nagaland and Andhra Pradesh are two of the 18 states going to the polls on Phase 1 of the General Election 2019. Twenty five parliamentary constituencies in Andhra and 1 in Nagaland are voting today.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live Updates: 24% voter turnout till 11am in UP; EVM glitches in Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh is conducting polls for Araku, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Amalapuram, Rajahmundry, Narasapuram, Eluru, Machilipatnam, Vijayawada, Guntur, Narasaraopet, Bapatla, Ongole, Nandyal, Kurnool, Anantapur, Hindupur, Kadapa, Nellore, Tirupati, Rajampet, Chittoor. Nagaland is the sole constituency in the Northeastern state going to the polls.   

Also read: Complete list of state-wise Lok Sabha election 2019 dates: EC announces 7-phase poll, result on May 23

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2019: Poll dates, full schedule, voting FAQs, election results, constituencies' details

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2019: Phase 1 voting kicks off today; FAQs, polling in 91 seats

URL for this article :
@ Copyright 2019 India Today Group.