- WhatsApp’s new terms of service went live on May 15th, 2021, and is applicable to special business accounts.
- You will not immediately lose WhatsApp’s features if you have not accepted the new terms of service.
- However, WhatsApp on Monday told Delhi High Court that it is not going to defer the date of the new terms of service and it continues to be May 15th, 2021.
It has been over three days since WhatsApp's new terms of service went live. Now, if you have not clicked on "Accept" yet, you will not lose the functions on WhatsApp -- at least immediately. However, if you are someone who thought you will have to comply with the new terms sooner or later, and did go ahead and clicked on Accept, WhatsApp will bring about some changes. No, you cannot "undo" the changes once you have accepted the new terms. WhatsApp on Monday told the Delhi High Court that it is not going to defer the May 15th deadline, and users not accepting new terms will lose features to the app over a span of time. It also noted that the company was complying with the Indian IT law in contrast to the Centre's views.
Only the chats between WhatsApp business accounts that use cloud providers and users can be stored and managed by business accounts, which is also possible only if the user contacts them. The report notes that these special business accounts are labeled so users can restrict themselves from interacting with these accounts if they wish to. Secondly, user's data can be targeted if users interact with business accounts on Instagram or Facebook to generate ads. It is entirely up to the user if he or she wants to use Facebook shops, notes WhatsApp. If users interact with Facebook shops, WhatsApp will inform users how this action is shared with Facebook.