Business Today
Loading...

Google will automatically delete location history, web and app activity for new users, check out other updates

Google will now delete location, web, and app data of new users by default every 18 months, YouTube will delete history every 36 months for new users.

twitter-logoYasmin Ahmed | June 25, 2020 | Updated 10:35 IST
(Source: Google)

Highlights

  • Google will delete new users' data by default every 18 months including location data, web, and app activity.
  • No changes will be brought to products like Gmail, Drive, and Photos.
  • Incognito mode will be made accessible by long pressing on the user’s profile photo, is currently available for iOS users.

Google will now delete web and app activity for new users by default. Google has announced a set of new updates to its line of software products, keeping privacy in mind. The tech giant aims at giving more control to the users where data is concerned. The move comes shortly after Google faced a $5 billion lawsuit for tracking private internet use.

Google's settings will now be set to delete a new user's data to 18 months by default. This will involve the user's location history, web, and app activity.

Google CEO, Sundar Pichai on Google's blog wrote, "As we design our products, we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control."

Google will not change any settings for users who have already activated any auto-delete options.

Pichai further spoke about the auto delete controls that Google introduced last year. These auto-delete controls would let users delete their data automatically from 3 months or 18 months.

If users already have set their data retention settings -- the option to keep or delete their location, web or app history, Google will not change the settings.

It will, however, give them notifications or reminders to keep their history in check.

"If you've already had Location History and Web & App Activity turned on, we won't be changing your settings. But we will actively remind you about the auto-delete controls through in-product notifications and emails, so you can choose the auto-delete setting that works for you," Pichai added.

Google has also extended its auto-delete option by default to YouTube.

For first-time YouTube users -- those who have created a new account or turned on their history for the first time, the auto-delete option will be set at 36 months by default.

Pichai noted that default retention periods will not apply to other products like Gmail, Drive, and Photos.

"We don't sell your information to anyone, and we don't use information in apps where you primarily store personal content—such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, and Photos—for advertising purposes, period," Pichai wrote.

Google will also let users keep a constant check on their privacy by typing things like "Google Privacy Checkup" and "Is my Google Account secure?" When users type such phrases, a box showing all the user's privacy settings will appear through which they will be able to change their settings.

Another update that Google is working on is the easy access to incognito mode. It will now be possible for users to long-press on their profile pictures to switch to incognito mode. It's available today on the Google App for iOS and coming soon to Android and other apps. Google is also working on incognito mode for Maps and YouTube.


Youtube
  • Print

  • COMMENT
BT-Story-Page-B.gif
A    A   A
close