Business Today
Loading...

How to create a room on Facebook Messenger app to make video calls

Facebook Messenger Apps can add up to 50 people. Here is how you can create a room.

twitter-logoYasmin Ahmed | May 18, 2020 | Updated 18:03 IST

Highlights

  • Facebook went live with Messenger apps on Thursday.
  • Users with or without a Facebook account can add up to 50 people.
  • The users can do so by sharing a link after creating a room.

Facebook, on Thursday went live with its new video-calling feature, Messenger apps. The feature is visible for all Messenger app users. The main feature of Facebook messenger apps is that it can add up to 50 members at a time. Users who do not have an account on Facebook will also be able to use the app.

People can be invited to a Chat room by sharing a link with other Messenger app users. Here is how a chat room can be created on the app.

--Install Messenger app from Play Store.

--Open the app. Once you open the app, there will be a Chat section and a People Section.

--Tap on People and press on Active to see the number of active users.

--Tap on 'Create a Room' option.

Once you tap on this option, they will be visible to Messenger app users with whom they share the link.

Users must note that when they join the Messenger room, people with the link or invite will be able to see their name and profile photo.

Messenger also notes for its users, "When you join the room, people with the link or invite will be able to see your name and profile photo and that you're in it. This may include people you're not friends with on Facebook."

--Click on the Share link option and send it to users who you wish to have a video chat with.

Once a link is sent to people, they can use it to join the room. Users can also share the room in your News Feed, Groups, and Events.

To leave a chat, users can press on the cross placed on the top left-hand side. Once users press on the cross, they get the option to either leave the room or to end the room.

If users select the leave room option, they temporarily leave that room and can re-enter again. This is made available when they receive calls when someone joins the room.

If you don't want to receive calls, you can permanently end the room by clicking on the end room option.

While Messenger Rooms will be limited to Facebook for now, in the future it will be integrated with Instagram Direct, WhatsApp, and Portal, according to Facebook.

Other video platforms like Google Meet went live very close to Messenger app rooms. Gmail users can avail of the app for free. In some systems, the app went live by default.

Youtube
  • Print

  • COMMENT
BT-Story-Page-B.gif
A    A   A
close