scorecardresearch
Twitter for web rolls out a soft block feature, allows users to remove annoying followers

Twitter for web rolls out a soft block feature, allows users to remove annoying followers

To soft block a follower, you should head to your profile, click on followers, click on the three-dot menu next to a follower, then click on the "Remove this follower" option.

(Picture: Reuters) (Picture: Reuters)
Story highlights
  • Twitter is rolling out a soft block feature that allows users to remove annoying followers.
  • This is different from completely blocking a follower.
  • Removing a follower will still allow the user to view tweets and send DMs to that user.

Micro-blogging site Twitter has started rolling out a new feature called a soft block that would allow web users to remove or restrict a follower without blocking them. Soft blocking is not the same as blocking someone as it allows the restricted users to see what you have tweeted but not on their feed. The soft blocked users can also direct message the user who has messaged them. To soft block a follower, you should head to your profile, click on followers, click on the three-dot menu next to a follower, then click on the "Remove this follower" option.

The feature will come in handy to users who do not want to completely block a user but want to distance themselves from such accounts. Users should however keep in mind that the removed accounts can follow the user who had removed them again. Twitter will not notify users when they have been soft blocked or removed from someone's account. If you completely block a user, they cannot see what you have posted at all nor does it allow you to send a direct message to the person.

Photo sharing and social media platform Instagram has a similar feature called Restrict account. The feature, which as the name suggests helps users to limit someone's activity on Instagram. Over the years, Instagram has brought features like Close Friends and Hide Story From XYZ account to disable certain people from viewing your activity. Restrict accounts is one such option that allows you to limit what people can post on your profile.

Twitter is also testing a feature called the Heads-Up feature which seems to be working for some Android and iOS users. Twitter noted that it is testing prompts that will alert users before they get into a heated or intense or heated conversation. Twitter noted that the prompts are aimed at supporting healthy conversation. Twitter will notify users about conversations that can be intense before they tweet in a conversation. When users reply to tweets, Twitter will show prompts that read, "Let's look out for each other."

"Ever want to know the vibe of a conversation before you join in? We're testing prompts on Android and iOS that give you a heads-up if the convo you're about to enter could get heated or intense. This is a work in progress as we learn how to better support healthy conversation," Twitter posted on its website.