Business Today
Loading...

Tinder introduces Block Contacts feature to give users more control of their profile, here is how to use it

Tinder has introduced a new feature that will allow users to block their personal contacts on the dating platform. The Block Contacts feature will help users from running into their relatives and colleagues.

twitter-logoYasmin Ahmed | June 7, 2021 | Updated 15:05 IST
(Picture: Tinder)

Highlights

  • Tinder has introduced a Block Contacts feature that will allow users to block their phone contacts.
  • Tinder aims to give users more control as they can choose who they want to hide their profile from.
  • Users can either choose to upload their contact list and select the contacts they want to block or manually choose contacts.

Tinder has rolled out a feature that will help users from bumping into their relatives, colleagues or exes. It is no secret that millennials and Gen Z avoid their relatives on social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, but running into them on dating apps is another ball game altogether. To spare the embarrassment and awkwardness, Tinder will now allow users to block their personal contacts with the Block Contacts feature. Users can either choose to upload their contact list and select the contacts they want to block or manually choose contacts they would rather not see on Tinder.

Tinder commissioned a recent survey that found that over 40 per cent of respondents have come across an ex-partner on a dating app. Another 24 per cent have seen a family member or colleague, and one in ten have even encountered their professor's profile. 78 per cent of the respondents noted that they would prefer to not see, or be seen by, these connections on an app.

Tinder notes that the Block Contacts feature will allow members to block personal contacts in the app, "empowering them to confidently Like their way to sparking new connections while avoiding the awkwardness of a familiar face they would rather not see."

As mentioned above, Tinder users can either choose to upload their contact list and pick the contacts they want to block by following the given steps:

-- Open Tinder and tap the profile icon.

-- Go to Settings.

-- Scroll down and select Block Contacts.

-- Grant Tinder permission to access your contacts.

-- Under the Contacts tab, select people you want to avoid from your contact list.

-- Tap Block Contacts.

Another option is for users to manually add a contact. To do so, follow the first three steps as mentioned above but instead of granting Tinder permission to access your contacts, tap the + icon at the top of the screen. Add the person's contact you want to block from Tinder and tap "Done."

"We may not be able to save you from awkward run-ins at the coffee shop, but we are giving you more control over your experience on Tinder," said Bernadette Morgan, Group Product Manager, Trust & Safety at Tinder. "We're rolling out Block Contacts as an additional resource empowering members with peace of mind by helping create a worry-free space for them to spark new connections."


  • Print
  • COMMENT
BT-Story-Page-B.gif
A    A   A
close