- WhatsApp is is rolling out the disappearing messages feature.
- The feature would let users enable the option to automatically delete chats after a time period of seven days.
- WhatsApp announced that the feature will be rolling out to users everywhere this month.
WhatsApp on Thursday announced that it is rolling out the disappearing messages feature. The much-awaited feature would let users enable the option to automatically delete chats after a time period of seven days. The disappearing message feature can be used for individual chats as well as for groups.
Announcing the feature, WhatsApp wrote in its blog, "Today, WhatsApp messages often live on our phones forever. While it's great to hold onto memories from friends and family, most of what we send doesn't need to be everlasting. Our goal is to make conversations on WhatsApp feel as close to in-person as possible, which means they shouldn't have to stick around forever. That's why we're excited to introduce the option to use disappearing messages on WhatsApp."
The disappearing messages option if turned on will delete the messages after seven days. The feature can be used for individual chats but in group chats, the group admin will take control of the settings. He will decide whether he wants to switch on the disappearing messages feature or not.
Talking about setting a time period of seven days, WhatsApp noted in the blog, "We're starting with 7 days because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren't permanent while remaining practical so you don't forget what you were chatting about. The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don't."
WhatsApp announced that the feature will be rolling out to users everywhere this month. This means that both the Android and iOS users will get the new feature.
Earlier, WhatsApp had explained on its FAQ page how the disappearing message feature will work. WhatsApp on its FAQ page wrote, "You can send messages that disappear on WhatsApp by enabling disappearing messages. Once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days. The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat. This setting won't affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat. In an individual chat, either user can turn disappearing messages on or off. In a group chat, only group admins can turn disappearing messages on or off."
As far as the media in disappearing messages are concerned, WhatsApp says that "media you receive in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage."
However, if the receiver wants to save the message from disappearing, he can take a screenshot of the message or click a picture of the message using another phone.