Business Today
Loading...

WhatsApp says it won't stop users from sending messages if they don't accept new privacy policy

WhatsApp had announced earlier this month that it would not remove the accounts of users who have not accepted the new privacy policy but limit some basic features.

twitter-logoAnkita Chakravarti | May 29, 2021 | Updated 11:16 IST

Highlights

  • Whatsapp has reversed its decision to limit functionality for users who have not accepted the new privacy policy.
  • WhatsApp has also updated its FAQ page stating that no one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp.
  • The Facebook-owned messaging app also informed that the majority of users have accepted the new privacy policy, but some havenít.

Whatsapp has reversed its decision to limit functionality for users who have not accepted the new privacy policy. The Facebook-owned company had announced earlier this month that it would not remove the accounts of users who have not accepted the new privacy policy but limit some basic features. However, now the company has announced that nothing of that sort would happen at least for now.

As reported by TNW, WhatsApp has given up on the idea of punishing users for not accepting the new privacy policy. The instant messaging app has been at receiving end of the users ever since users were notified about the new privacy policy through an in-app notification. After facing severe backlash from the public across the globe, WhatsApp shifted its February 8 deadline to May 15. However, that did not help WhatsApp's cause much as trouble erupted between the governments of various countries and WhatsApp over the new privacy policy.

"Given recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make clear that we currently have no plans to limit the functionality of how WhatsApp works for those who have not yet accepted the update. Instead, we will continue to remind users from time to time about the update as well as when people choose to use relevant optional features, like communicating with a business that is receiving support from Facebook," WhatsApp told The TNW

WhatsApp has also updated its FAQ page stating that no one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp. The Facebook-owned messaging app also informed that the majority of users have accepted the new privacy policy, but some haven't. For those who not accepted the policy yet or haven't had the chance to do so, WhatsApp will continue to display a notification providing more information about the update. WhatsApp said that it does not plan to send persistent reminders and limit the functionality of the app.

Users were in two minds about whether to accept the new privacy policy. Some did not want to let go of their WhatsApp account but were not sure of the policies. It was believed that WhatsApp will share personal information including chats and all with its parent company Facebook. However, WhatsApp clarified that the update was related to messages being sent to the business accounts that will be stored in servers.

"We will continue to remind users from time to time and let them accept the update, including when they choose to use relevant optional features like communicating with a business that is receiving support from Facebook. We hope this approach reinforces the choice that all users have whether or not they want to interact with a business," WhatsApp said in a statement.

  • Print
  • COMMENT
BT-Story-Page-B.gif
A    A   A
close