Hubballi railway station in Karnataka sets Guinness record for world's longest railway platform

Story by: Basudha Das
Designed by: Pragati

The Hubballi railway station in Karnataka has entered the Guinness Book of World Records for having the longest railway platform in the world. 

Hubballi railway station has world’s longest platform

Hubballi railway
station length: 1,507 m

The 1,507-metre long platform was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday. The Hubballi railway station was renamed as Shree Siddharoodha Swamiji Station. 

According to Southern Railways, two trains can be flagged off with electric engines, simultaneously from the longest platform. 

Hubballi railway platform

Hubballi railway
station’s building cost 

Built at a cost of Rs 20.1 crore, the new platform at Hubballi will help reduce congestion and improve passenger comfort at the station, which is an important railway junction in Karnataka. 

Earlier, Gorakhpur's railway platform, measuring 1,366.33 metres with ramp, held the record of the longest railway platform in the country. 

Second longest
railway platform 

Hubballi is a major hub of trade and commerce in the North Karnataka region. This station is situated on the junction connecting railway lines towards Bengaluru (Davanagere side), Hosapete (Gadag side) and Vasco-Da-Gama/Belagavi (Londa side).

Hubballi railway
station: Location

The Hubballi station had five platforms earlier, three new platforms were added to meet the growing needs of one of the busiest platforms. 

Hubballi station with
8 platforms

Indian Railways has also completed the electrification of Hosapete - Hubballi - Tinaighat Railway line (245 RKM) at a cost of Rs 519 crore. 

Electrification of
Hubballi Railway line

The route passes through the districts of Vijayanagar, Koppal, Gadag, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada and Belagavi.  This is a major coal route of Karnataka linking Steel plant and Thermal power plant with Mormugao Port.

Hubballi Railway route

Next: Naatu Naatu, The Elephant Whisperers win at Oscars 2023: Here’s a look at previous Indians winners