New Congress
Kharge & those
before him

Mallikarjun Kharge defeated Shashi Tharoor by 6,000 votes to become the new Congress President

He won 7,897 votes out of total 9,385 votes while his opponent Shashi Tharoor managed to secure only 1,072 votes

Let’s take a look…

While Mallikarjun Kharge is the first non-Gandhi chief in 24 years, Congress Presidents in the past have mainly been from the Gandhi family

B Pattabhi Sitaramayya

In post-Independence India, B Pattabhi Sitaramayya was the first to be elected Congress chief after being backed by Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru

Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru served as the party's president while he was the Prime Minister of India

Indira Gandhi
(1959-1960), (1978-1983)

Jawaharlal Nehru’s daughter Indira Gandhi held the post of Congress President thrice

Rajiv Gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi took over the party after his mother Indira Gandhi’s assassination. He continued to serve as the Congress chief till he was assassinated in 1991

Sonia Gandhi
(1998 - 2017), (2019- 2022)

Rajiv Gandhi's wife Sonia Gandhi has been the longest-serving Congress President with over 20 years of leading the party. She was serving as the interim chief since her son Rahul Gandhi’s resignation

Rahul Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi briefly served as the Congress chief from 2017 to 2019 but resigned from the post after the party's crushing defeat in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls


Dyson, Samsung, Oral B: Tech Today’s Diwali Hamper

Click Here