Messi, Putellas: Top winners at FIFA Football Awards

Lionel Messi crowned
Best FIFA Men’s Player

Argentina's World Cup-winning captain Lionel Messi was crowned the best player in men's football by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) at The Best FIFA Football Awards

Lionel Messi ahead
Of Kylian Mbappe,
Karim Benzema

The 35-year-old forward scored two goals in the 2022 World Cup final against France, which Argentina won on penalties against France following a 3-3 draw in Qatar. Messi was named as the world's best player over Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema

Spain's Alexia Putellas
gets Best Women’s Player

While Messi bagged the award in the men's category, Spain's Alexia Putellas won the best women's player award for a second straight year at the Best FIFA Football Awards 2022 ceremony held in Paris on Monday

Lionel Scaloni, Sarina
Wiegman voted Best Coach
at Best FIFA Football Awards

Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni was voted FIFA men’s coach of the year after leading his team to the World Cup title in December. Sarina Wiegman won the best FIFA women’s coach after leading the Lionesses to European glory and her second successive UEFA EURO title

Best FIFA Football Awards:
Argentina on a winning spree

Argentina shot-stopper Emiliano Martinez got his hands on the best FIFA men's goalkeeper prize and Argentinian fans were recognised for their support of the national team during the FIFA World Cup 2022

Best FIFA Football Awards:
Marcin Oleksy wins
FIFA Puskas Award

The glittering ceremony also recognised the standout goal of the year as Marcin Oleksy won the FIFA Puskas Award for his impressive finish

Heading 3

Best FIFA Football Awards:
Other key winners

Georgian player Luka Lochoshvili picked up the FIFA Fair Play award. England's Mary Earps clinched the Best Women's Goalkeeper trophy

Argentina takes major
honours at Best FIFA
Football Awards

At the awards ceremony held in Paris, Argentina took home major honours after their World Cup triumph in December last year

Best FIFA Football Awards
2022: Voting process

The winners of The Best player, goalkeeper and coach awards were determined through a voting process in which four groups had an equal say -- football fans, selected media representatives and the captains and head coaches of national teams from around the globe

Air India-Boeing-Airbus' $70 billion deal: CEO Campbell Wilson's expansion plan

Produced By: Smriti
Designed by: Pragati

Next Visual Story 

Click Here

Next: Xylazine: The new ‘flesh-eating’ drug is reportedly turning people into zombies