
Netflix is introducing a new Profile Transfer feature to encourage freeloaders to pay upNetflix has introduced a new feature called ‘Profile Transfer’ that will ultimately help the OTT platform prevent multiple log-ins on a single account. At the same time, they will not lose these subscribers completely. The Profile Transfer option will be a precursor to a new feature where users will be asked to either pay up or stop streaming on multiple devices. In its official statement, Netflix does paint a very rosy picture for the new feature. The streaming giant claimed that it does not want users to lose their viewing history, profile and personalized recommendations when they part ways from another account. It seems like a logical feature to be introduced before Netflix forces freeloaders to pay for separate accounts. The incentive of continuing with the entire profile ready will also encourage users to move out of the accounts.
In a blog Netflix explained that Profile Transfer feature is being introduced as “People move. Families grow. Relationships end.” They further stated, “But throughout these life changes, your Netflix experience should stay the same. Today, we’re launching Profile Transfer, a feature that lets people using your account transfer a profile — keeping the personalized recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, and other settings — when they start their own membership.”