Indians shortlisted for top business book award

Sheena Iyengar and Raghuram Rajan are among the six authors shortlisted, and stand a chance to win a 30,000-pounds award prize money.

Raghuram Rajan (left) and Sheena Iyengar (right) Raghuram Rajan (left) and Sheena Iyengar (right)
Two Indian-origin economists have been shortlisted for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs 'Business Book of the Year' award, which recognises the best business book of the year.

Sheena Iyengar and Raghuram Rajan are among the six authors shortlisted, and stand a chance to win a 30,000-pounds award prize money. Shortlisted authors will each receive 10,000 pounds.

Iyengar, a professor of Business at Columbia University, has been nominated for her book, 'The Art of Choosing', which focuses on choice and how it is affected by culture.

Rajan, an advisor to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and a professor of Finance at the University of Chicago, has been shortlisted for his book, 'Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten The World Economy'.

The other four authors who have made it to the list are David Kirkpatrick ('The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World'); Michael Lewis ('The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine'); Sebastian Mallaby ('More Money than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite') and Andrew Ross Sorkin ('Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System and Themselves').

This year's judges are Lionel Barber, Liaquat Ahamed, Helen Alexander, Lynda Gratton, Mario Monti, Jorma Ollila and Shriti Vadera. They have come up wiht the shortlisting based on their opinion of the books that provided "the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues".

Lionel Barber, editor of Financial Times, said: "This year's shortlist combines compelling narrative with trenchant analysis of the big questions facing the business and financial world, two years on from the collapse of Lehman Brothers. The standard of writing is high and the insights into the causes and consequences of the global financial crisis are laid bare."

"The short-list also includes an account of the stunning rise of Facebook and a more philosophical reflection on the art of choosing by Columbia Professor Sheena Iyengar," he said.

The overall winner of the 2010 Book Award will be announced on October 27 at an Award Dinner in New York, at which Carnegie Corporation President, Vartan Gregorian, will be the keynote speaker.

Previous winners of the Award are: Liaquat Ahamed for 'The Lords of Finance' (2009); Mohamed El-Erian for 'When Markets Collide' (2008); William D Cohan for 'The Last Tycoons' (2007); James Kynge for 'China Shakes the World' (2006) and Thomas Friedman as the inaugural Award winner in 2005.