The reason why Google is doing this is because it believes that if an account is abandoned for around 2 years, the chances of it being compromised are high. Google stated, “, these accounts are often vulnerable, and once an account is compromised, it can be used for anything from identity theft to a vector for unwanted or even malicious content, like spam.”
Google will begin deleting these accounts starting December 2023. Google reveals, “Before deleting an account, we will send multiple notifications over the months leading up to deletion, to both the account email address and the recovery email (if one has been provided).” The company will start the deletion process with the accounts that were never used after being created.
How to keep your Google account active
To keep your Google account active, you need to sign in to your account at least once in 24 months. Google states, “If you have signed into your Google Account or any of our services recently, your account is considered active and will not be deleted.”
You can also keep your Google account active by Reading or sending an email, using Google Drive, watching YouTube videos, downloading an app on the Google Play Store, using Google Search, and using Sign in with Google to sign in to a third-party app or service.
Notably, users will need to specifically sign in to Google Photos every 2 years to be considered active. This will make sure that Google doesn’t delete your content. However, before taking any such action, Google will send multiple notifications to the users.
Also Read:
‘Twitter will try to rehire some employees that were let go’: Elon Musk acknowledges excessive layoffs
'I am the reason OpenAI exists': Elon Musk criticizes ChatGPT maker for turning to a for-profit model
Google Bard Vs OpenAI ChatGPT: Battle of the top free AI chatbots in India