Business Today

Civil Services Exam 2019: UPSC releases new notification for EWS category

According to a new UPSC notification, candidates who wish to apply under the EWS category have to get their EWS Certificate ready in time. The quote will only apply to those who opt for it

twitter-logoBusinessToday.In | March 13, 2019 | Updated 21:02 IST
Civil Services Exam 2019: UPSC releases new notification for EWS category

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), the country's premier central recruiting agency, yesterday released an important notice regarding the newly-introduced 10% quota for the economically weaker sections (EWS) that will be of interest to eligible beneficiaries appearing for the upcoming Civil Services Exam (CSE) 2019.

"Candidates who wish to apply under EWS category are requested to get their EWS Certificate ready by 1st August, 2019," read the notice. The reservation quota will be applied only to those candidates who opt for it and present the EWS?reservation certificate when asked, The Hindustan Times reported.

According to an official statement previously released by UPSC, the online application process ends on March 18. The CSE 2019 preliminary level will be conducted on June 2, 2019, while the main examination will held on September 20, which will be conducted for five days. The main examination for UPSC Indian Forest Service (IFS) will be conducted on December 1, 2019.

The board will issue issued an e-Admit Card three weeks before the commencement of the examination. No Admit Card will be sent by post, it mentioned in the notification.

How to apply

Interested candidates can apply online on the UPSC website. The detailed instructions for filling up online applications are available on the website. For applying online, candidates will have to upload a scanned copy of the Photo ID, which will be used for all future referencing.

Educational qualification

To apply for the UPSC CSE 2019, candidate must have qualified graduation level course or its equivalent from an esteemed university or institution incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India.

Recruitment Process

The applicants will have to face a three-level exam including prelims, main and interview. Candidates who will qualify prelims and obtain minimum qualifying mark in the Main Examination and interview will get selected. Candidates will be allotted to the various services keeping in view their ranks in the examination and the preferences expressed by them for the various services and posts.

Age Limit

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2019. Candidates belonging to reserved categories will get age relaxation.

Number of Attempts

Every candidate appearing at the examination will be permitted six attempts at the examination. However, this restriction on the number of attempts does not apply in the case of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes candidates.


Candidates (except Female/SC/ST/persons with benchmark disability candidates who are exempted from payment of fee) are required to pay fee of Rs 100 either by remitting the money in any Branch of State Bank of India or by using Visa/Master/RuPayCredit/Debit Cardor by using Internet Banking of SBI.

Exam Pattern

The preliminary examination consists of two papers of objective type (multiple choice questions) and carries a maximum of 400 marks. The main examination will consist of written examination and an interview test. The written examination will consist of 9 papers of conventional essay type.

ALSO READ: IBPS PO mains result 2018 announced; check results on

ALSO READ: ICAI postpones CA exams on account of Lok Sabha polls

  • Print
A    A   A