Business Today

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018: No clear lead, both BJP, Congress in talks with BSP

MP Assembly Election Results 2018: Though most of the exit poll surveys have predicted a close race between the BJP and the opposition Congress party, both the party claims they would win comfortably.

twitter-logoBusinessToday.In | December 11, 2018 | Updated 13:22 IST
Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018: Will BJP be able to beat 15-year anti-incumbency?

In the constantly fluctuating trends, Madhya Pradesh is turning out to be the most interesting of all election results today. The results that are constantly fluctuating between Congress and BJP. Mayawati is now being courted by both BJP and Congress in Madhya Pradesh. Earlier, she had snubbed Congress's attempts at forging an alliance in the state ahead of the elections.

Former Madhya Pradesh CM Babulal Gaur told India Today TV, "Trends showing people are disappointed with the BJP. It is not necessary that every time you will win. This happens when you are in power for 15 years." However, Gaur is still hoping that the BJP will retain power in MP. Speaking on his daughter Krishna Gaur contesting from Govindpura, he said, "It is our fortress and Krishna will win with a good margin."

Nine ministers in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led BJP government in Madhya Pradesh are trailing in the Assembly polls as per the latest trend.

Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is leading by a margin of over 6,000 votes in Budhni constituency after second round of counting.

Also Read: Election Results 2018: Watch live coverage on Aaj Tak

Also Read: Election Results 2018: Watch live coverage on India Today TV

Congress workers, elated by the early trends going in favour of the party in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and also Madhya Pradesh, have broken into celebrations.

The elections for the 230-member Assembly in Madhya Pradesh were held on November 28. The fate of as many as 2,899 candidates contesting polls on different party tickets will be decided today. Also testing their electoral fortunes are 1,094 Independent candidates.

Congress workers have broken into celebrations outside Madhya Pradesh Congress chief Kamal Nath's residence in Bhopal.

Also Read: Rajasthan Election Results 2018: Will BJP buck anti-incumbency?

Also Read: Chhattisgarh Election Results 2018: CM Raman Singh's winningstreak faces threat from a resilient Congress

Also Read: Mizoram Election Results 2018: Tight fight between MizoNational Front, Congress

Also Read: Telangana Election Results 2018: Will TRS' gamble pay off?

  • Print
A    A   A