
Even though users have been blocked from taking screenshots of media, they can take screenshots of conversations even if they have the disappearing messages feature turned on.Meta’s messaging platform WhatsApp will roll out a new version of its View Once feature aimed at barring users from taking screenshots of images and videos. Due to this feature, users cannot take a screenshot of the media shared with them and also cannot forward, export, save or view the images or other media.
The media also does not get saved in the recipient’s phone or gallery. If users do not open the media file within 14 days of sharing, it will expire from the chat. A WABetaInfo report added that even if a user tries to take a screenshot, the image will appear to be black. The report read, “Normally, you cannot take a screenshot due to security policy and a toast will show up but even if some people would use third-party extensions to be able to bypass the security policy, the image will always be black.”