Business Today
Loading...

WhatsApp working on feature that will let users mute videos before sharing with contacts

The functionality will let users mute videos before sending them to contact by tapping on the volume button in the section where videos are edited.

twitter-logoIndia Today Tech | February 8, 2021 | Updated 18:33 IST
(Picture: Reuters)

Highlights

  • WhatsApp is testing a feature that will let users mute videos before they share them with a contact.
  • According to reports, the videos to be shared can be muted by tapping on the volume button in the section where users edit the video.
  • The feature, mute videos, is now available to use on beta version 2.21.3.13 for Android.

WhatsApp is testing a feature that will let users mute videos before sharing them with their contacts. The feature, called the mute videos feature is now available to use on beta version 2.21.3.13 for Android, as per a report. The functionality lets users mute videos before sending them to a contact. According to WhatsApp tracker WaBetaInfo, the toggle is available in the section where users edit the video.

WhatsApp users will be able to mute the video by tapping on the volume toggle, while the other options like an emote option, text option and edit option will remain the same. The new feature was first spotted by the tracker in November by a beta user. It is now rolling out for all beta users.

WhatsApp is also reportedly working on a fix for the mention badge in the group cell, every time you are mentioned in that specific group. Further, WhatsApp also released a new animated sticker pack called Taters n tots. Earlier this year, reports speculated that WhatsApp was working on the multi-device feature on the web. The feature will let users log into one WhatsApp account using multiple devices. However, the new development would let users log in to WhatsApp from different devices without needing an active internet connection.

WhatsApp was under fire from users for its revised privacy policy that was slated to go into effect from today, that is, February 8, 2021. The updated privacy policy noted that users should comply with the company's terms on how it processes data shared with business accounts on WhatsApp, or they could lose their WhatsApp accounts. However, after users' outrage and skepticism, the Facebook-owned company has pushed back the date until May.

"We're now moving back the date on which people will be asked to review and accept the terms. No one will have their account suspended or deleted on February 8. We're also going to do a lot more to clear up the misinformation around how privacy and security work on WhatsApp. We'll then go to people gradually to review the policy at their own pace before new business options are available on May 15," WhatsApp noted.


  • Print
  • COMMENT
BT-Story-Page-B.gif
A    A   A
close