Business Today

General Election 2019: 5 things to know before you cast your vote

General Election 2019 Phase 1: Before you cast your vote, check your name in voter list, check candidates' name, check polling booth and check the voting process inside polling booth

twitter-logo BusinessToday.In        Last Updated: April 11, 2019  | 11:27 IST
General Election 2019: 5 things to know before you cast your vote
General Election 2019 Phase 1: The voting has kicked off across 18 states and 2 UTs-Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

The first phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 kicked off today in 91 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 18 states and two Union Territories (UTs). 142 million voters will seal the fate of 1279 candidates as the voting gets underway at 170,664 polling booths in the country.  

The voting time for Phase 1 elections will be from 7 AM to 6 PM. However, amongst the northeastern states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura West, electorates can exercise their franchise between 7am-5pm, while Manipur, Nagaland and Meghalaya will go to polls between 7am-4pm.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2019: Poll dates, full schedule, voting FAQs, election results, constituencies' details

States and UTs that will cast votes today are: Andhra Pradesh (2), Arunachal Pradesh (25), Assam (5), Bihar (4), Chhattisgarh (1), Jammu and Kashmir(2),  Maharashtra (7), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Odisha (4), Sikkim (1), Telangana (17), Tripura (1), Uttar Pradesh (8), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (2), Andaman and Nicobar Islands (1) and Lakshadweep (1).

Also read: Complete list of state-wise Lok Sabha election 2019 dates: EC announces 7-phase poll, result on May 23

Five things to know before casting your vote:

1) How to check your name in voter list

Before going to vote, check whether your name is there on the voter list or not. Here's how to check your name in the Voters' List (also known as electoral roll).

You can only vote if your name appears in the Voters' List. Verify your name on the list by either:

  • Logging on to
  • Calling the Voter Helpline 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
  • SMS <ECI> space <EPIC No> to 1950 (EPIC stands for Electors Photo Identity Card also commonly known as Voter ID card). Example - If your EPIC is 12345678 then sms ECI 12345678 to 1950

2) Find your Polling booth

If you have found your name in the Voters' List then check where you have to go to give your vote. Here is step by step guide to check your polling booth:

  • Voters can go to or use Voter Helpline App to find their polling booth
  • Voters can call the Voter Helpline, the number is 1950 (please add your STD code before dialling)
  • For Polling station location SMS <ECIPS> space <EPIC No> to 1950

Remember: Mobile phones, cameras or any other gadgets are not allowed inside a polling booth.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live Updates: 'No 2 crore jobs, no Rs 15 lakh, no acche din; vote wisely,' says Rahul Gandhi

3) Voter id is not necessary to cast your vote, you can also use other identity proofs like:

  • EPIC (Voter ID card)
  • Passport
  • Driving License
  • Service Identity Cards with a photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies
  • Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
  • PAN Card
  • Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
  • MNREGA Job Card (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee)
  • Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
  • Pension document with a photograph
  • Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs
  • Aadhaar Card

4) Voting process at the polling booth:

  • First polling official will check your name on the voter list and check your ID proof
  • Second polling official will ink your finger, give you a slip and take your signature on a register (Form 17A)
  •  You will have to deposit the slip with the third polling official, show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth
  • Record your vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of your choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); You will hear a beep sound
  • Check the slip that appears in the transparent window of the VVPAT machine. The slip with the Candidate serial No., Name and Symbol shall be visible for 7 seconds before it drops in the sealed VVPAT box


NOTA means 'None of the above'. You will find this option on the EVM. You can press the NOTA button if you disapprove all the candidates standing in the elections from your constituency. The button gives voters an opportunity to express their disapproval with the contesting candidates. Remember, NOTA button is always the last button on the EVM.

For more information, please see the Voter Guide on

Also read: Lok Sabha election 2019: Phase 1 of voting starts Today; watch live TV coverage on polling Updates

  • Print

A    A   A